
New Jersey 
Department of Labor
Wage & Hour 
Compliance 

Public Work



Public Work in New Jersey

• Construction, reconstruction, demolition, alteration, custom fabrication, repair or 
maintenance work

• Paid in whole or in part by funds of a Public Body

• The property on which the work is performed is owned by a Public Body

• Not less than 55% of the property is leased or subject to an agreement to be 
subsequently leased to a public body, and the leased/to be leased area measures 
more than 20,000 square feet

• New Jersey Prevailing Wage Contract threshold for municipalities is $16,263.00, as 
of July 1, 2019, and is readjusted every five years in conjunction with the CPI 

• In the case of all other any other Public Work as listed above, the threshold is 
$2,000.00 



Other jobs covered by Prevailing Wage

Private projects with financial involvement (loans, loan guarantees, expenditures, investments, tax 
exemptions or other incentives or financial assistance) from the following agencies: 

• NJ Economic Development Authority (NJEDA)

• NJ Redevelopment Authority (NJRA)

• Casino Reinvestment Development Authority (CRDA)

• New Jersey Educational Facilities Authority (NJEFA)

• New Jersey Healthcare Facilities Financing Authority (NJHCFFA)

• County Improvement Authorities

• New Jersey Housing and Mortgage Finance Agency (HMFA)

• Urban Enterprise Zone Program (UEZ)

• NJ Board of Public Utilities (BPU)

Utility Work: Work contracted for by a utility company.



Prevailing Wage Rates in New Jersey

Prevailing wage means the wage rate paid by virtue 
of collective bargaining agreements by employers 
employing the majority of workers of that craft or 
trade subject to said collective bargaining 
agreement, in the locality in which the Public Work 
is done.  



Prevailing Wage Rates in New Jersey

• The Division is notified by a construction union 
that their collectively bargained rates have 
changed

• The union will send the Division the new rate 
information, we prepare a new rate chart

• Upon approval a new wage determination is 
generated as a PDF file and uploaded to the 
website 



Wage Determination

Available on our website
Official Determination 
generated by the Public Body 
when the bid is awarded and 
contract is signed



Overview of Contractor/Subcontractor 
Responsibilities

• Contractors and subcontractors must:
• Be registered with the Department of Labor and Workforce 

Development.
• Pay prevailing wage rates based upon work classifications 

actually worked for all actual hours of work.
• Post a wage determination in a prominent place where workers 

have access.
• Submit certified payroll records to the public body within 10 days 

of payday.
• Permit on-site inspection and employee interviews by the 

Department of Labor.
• Produce payroll-related records to the Department of Labor 

within 10 days of a request.



Contractor Registration

Subcontractors named in a bid must be registered 
at the time the bid is submitted.

All other subcontractors must be registered at the 
time they are hired (the time that the subcontract 
agreement is signed).   

If a contractor bids on or is found working on a 
public works project without being registered, the 
max penalty for a first violation is $2500      



List of Registered Contractors

• Contractors and subcontractors must:
• Be registered with the Department of Labor and Workforce 

Development.
• Pay prevailing wage rates based upon work classifications 

actually worked for all actual hours of work.
• Post a wage determination in a prominent place where workers 

have access.
• Submit certified payroll records to the public body within 10 days 

of payday.
• Permit on-site inspection and employee interviews by the 

Department of Labor.
• Produce payroll-related records to the Department of Labor 

within 10 days of a request.



Apprenticeship Program

• “Apprenticeship program" means a registered apprenticeship program providing 
each trainee with combined classroom and on-the-job training under the direct 
and close supervision of a highly skilled worker in an occupation recognized as an 
apprenticeable trade, registered by the Office of Apprenticeship of the U.S. 
Department of Labor. 

• An employee may only be paid the apprentice rate if he or she is enrolled in an 
approved and registered apprenticeship program. Otherwise, the employee must 
be paid at least the Journeyman rate.  A contractor who lists an apprentice on 
their certified payrolls must provide:

• Documentation of enrollment in approved apprenticeship program.
• Proof of training (tuition) cost and coverage, if the contractor is claiming 

fringe benefit credit for apprenticeship participation.



Apprenticeship Requirements

A contractor can participate in a registered apprenticeship program in 
several different ways:

1. The contractor is signatory to a collective bargaining agreement with a Union for 
the craft employed, where regular payments are made to an ERISA trust fund. 
Does not require the use of an apprentice.

2. The contractor is a member of a workforce intermediary organization that is the 
sponsor of an  apprentice program(s). The organization must also have an ERISA 
trust fund, to which the contractor contributes on a regular basis. Does not require 
the use of an apprentice.

3. The contractor sponsors their own USDOL-certified apprenticeship program. Does 
not require an ERISA trust fund. Contractor must have an apprentice enrolled in 
the program, or have had one within the last year.



Apprenticeship Requirements

For every work classification that a contractor employs 
on a prevailing wage project, they must participate in 
an apprenticeship program, in or to qualify for Public 
Works Contractor Registration.
There are no exemptions from this law.



36 New W&H Statutes in New Jersey since 2018

• 34:11-67.1. Owners’ responsibility for wage claims against 
subcontractors- provides enforcement power for up the chain liability on Public Contract cases 

• 34:11-56-50 et seq. Contractor Registration- Registration requires an 
apprenticeship program for each trade the contractor performs, the contractor has an ongoing 
obligation to notify the Division of any new trades they are performing and verify the corresponding 
apprenticeship program

• Certified Payroll Database & Electronic Submission of Public Work 
Contractor Registration Applications- signed by the Governor on August 16, 2023, 
with one year for implementation

• 34:11-56.35(d) Penalties, Stop Work Orders- provides the ability, when an initial 
determination of a violation of the NJ PWA, a Stop Work Order can be issued.  



Enforcement Tools

• Stop Work Orders since 2019 we have issued 42 SWO 
on public work job sites

• Immediate Suspensions of Public Work Contractor 
Registration Certificates

• Debarments and Revocations of PWCR

• Drones for surveillance – 12 FAA certified drone pilots 


